GREAT FESTIVE DEALS | SHOP NOW

The Golden Globes #HairGame Review

Written by: holly 11th January 2016

The award season has officially kicked off with the Golden Globes last night, meaning that from now on we have our #Celeb trend-watch on! The world’s top stars strutted their stuff down the red carpet rocking some serious #HairMoments and we couldn’t resist sharing our faves!

Pulled Away

One of our favourite hair trends from the night was the pulled away look. It’s chic, it’s polished and the perfect way to show off that highlight and contour that took you hours to apply!

Golden Globes Hair Review

This look was rocked by the likes of Eva Longoria, ‘Game of Thrones’ Emilia Clarke, J-Lo and Zendaya – each of them slayed their way down the red carpet looking more on point than ever! Create the pulled away look by starting with our XL Volume Serum on wet hair for a little pre-stying oomph, once dried, comb back whilst spraying with our MiracOILous Hairspray for a smooth, sleek finish.

The Tousled Up Look

The one style that you know will always be there for you is the the tousled up look – and these celeb stylists have definitely set a high standard for the 2016 awards season! Amber Heard, Jenna Dewan Tatum, and Rachel McAdams all opted for their hair styled up – what other way would they show off their killer gowns!

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 17.01.29

Create the perfect up-do by starting with our Ellipse Wand. Just imperfectly wrap different sized sections around the barrel for messy waves, then tease back with our Just Tease Me Wide Tooth Comb to keep the waves intact. Twist the length of the hair at the back into a low, messy bun and pin. Pull out a few strands at the front for the Amber Heard look and finish with our Freeze Hold Hairspray to keep that long-lasting hold all night!

Plait That 

Every Instagrammer will know that it’s all about braids right now, even the celeb elite had it covered at last night’s Golden Globes! Rooney Mara, Alicia Vikander, Maria Menounos and our ultimate Style Queen Olivia Palermo were all killing it with a chic braided style.

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 17.01.35

Create Maria’s front French plait look by taking even sections of the hair and plaiting around your hairline, making sure it’s kept secure. Pin around the sides, tuck underneath your up-do of choice and finish with our MiracOILous Hairspray.

Retro Glam

An evening trend that never goes away – the Retro look. A fave for Lady Gaga and super babes Katy Perry and Sophia Bush. Lily James followed suite last night with these gorgeously glossy curls any girl would have serious #HairEnvy for!

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 17.01.46

To achieve a Retro-inspired look a la Katy Perry and Lily James, get started by grabbing our Ellipse Wand to create your loose curls by tightly wrapping uneven sections of the hair around the barrel and holding for 15 seconds for a super bouncy wave. Spritz with our Freeze Hold Hairspray before using our BFF backcomber for that 60’s beehive height, pin at the sides to keep the volume right where it needs to be. Spritz again with our Freeze Hold Hairspray and voila – a hair moment to make any 60’s star jealous!

Make a Wave!

Tousled waves will always be hot and this is something proven by mega babe Rosie Huntington Whitely year-in-year-out – this year being no different. Joined by Kate Hudson, Olivia Wilde and Melissa McCarthy. These girls really know how to work the understated look.

Screen Shot 2016-01-11 at 17.01.53

This is the easiest look of them all and can simply be created using our Interchangeable Wand, switching the barrels if you want that textured and tousled look with different sized waves. Finish by finger combing through with our Perfecting Polish to tame any fly-aways to keep strands sleek and shiny!